Vol.XXIV: Mozart, Violin Sonatas KV376, 378, 379

Sviatoslav Richter (Piano), Oleg Kagan (Violin); Moscow 1982

Download at iTunes

Available again soon!


Pick of a still-unfurling edition devoted to the genius of a late, great yet little-known violinist, these performances show the kind of company Kagan kept and raise the art of the violin-and-piano duo to a rare level. Richter is invariably called upon to take the lead; Kagan responds with utter naturalness. With playing as nimble, flexible and selfeffacing as this, the path to Mozart’s essence is instantly achieved.

Critics Choice, BBC Music

Go Back