Haydn, Sonata Hob XVI/46, Beethoven, Sonata op.54, Chopin, Polonaise Fantaisie op.61, Scriabin, Mazurka op.40/1&2, Poème Nocturne op.61, Debussy, L’isle joyeuse

Sviatoslav Richter (Piano);
Schliersee 1992

Download at iTunes

14 in stock

16,00 €


Sviatoslav Richter played this recital in the just hundred-year-old rural folk theatre Terofal in Schliersee. As already two months ago in the hall of the University of Munich (complete recital now on LCL 481) the 77 year-old Sviatoslav Richter seemed to be in excellent condition. His playing is perfect in the technical sense, there seems to be no limit to his strength, his creative power has culminated in impressive maturity and intensity of style. Richter gave a carefully measured, calm, stunningly profound and long performance of the brilliant piece (Haydn). A superb performance! (Beethoven Sonata). In Debussy’s “L’isle joyeuse” Richter celebrated a feast of colours: not in an atmosphere of half-light but of absolute clarity.

Wolfgang Schreiber
Süddeutsche Zeitung 7/92

His Haydn and Beethoven sonatas and especially the Chopin Polonaises are exemplary in every way: deeply probing and musically expressive, utterly natural in phrasing and line, and greatly rewarding. Richter’s wonders never cease.

American Record Guide 1996

Go Back